The King's standard and coat of arms

From his investiture onwards, His Majesty the King will fly the royal standard. His coat of arms will be identical to that used by Queen Beatrix. Contrary to the announcement in the press release of 29 January therefore, there will be no change in the design.

The royal coat of arms, which is the same as the coat of arms of the Kingdom, has only been altered once since the foundation of the Kingdom of the Netherlands. In 1907, at the instigation of Queen Wilhelmina, the number of crowns was reduced to one, surmounting the shield. At the same time, it became possible to add the royal mantle, also surmounted by a crown. The addition of other decorative elements to the coat of arms is optional.

After her abdication the Queen will adopt the coat of arms created for her (and for her sisters) in 1938 as Princess of the Netherlands, Princess of Orange-Nassau and Princess of Lippe-Biesterfeld.

The royal standard will be flown above Noordeinde Palace in The Hague and at Eikenhorst in Wassenaar when the King is in the country. Queen Wilhelmina adopted this standard in 1908, and it was also flown, unchanged, by Queen Juliana and Queen Beatrix.