The Royal Household comprises the Civil and the Military Households. The Grand Master is the head of the Civil Household and the Household as a whole, with the Chief of the Military Household as his deputy.

Civil Household

The Civil Household, headed by the Grand Master, is the collective name given to the non-military staff of the Royal Household. It is made up of various services, offices and advisers.

Military Household

The Military Household is responsible for military protocol at the court and maintains non-political contacts with the Ministry of Defence. It is headed by the Chief of the Military Household.

Officers of the Royal Household

The Royal Household has some 40 Officers, divided between the Civil and Military Households. They are appointed by royal decision. On retirement, Officers of the Royal Household often receive an honorary appointment. They are then called upon for major events and special occasions.